• 1990

- Annette Barwick and Mary Esther Raker agree to become FAEDS's new historians.
- FAEDS serves as sponsor for the University of Central Florida course "System Management Planning".
- First documentation of someone making the "Ray Parker Motion" occurred on May 1.
- o Membership dips below 300.
- Karen Harris of Sarasota County receives the first(?) teacher scholarship.
- o Thomas Fryer (Ft. Pierce) awarded the English Scholarship.
- Razi Arifuddin (University of Florida) and Virgiliu Mocano (Florida International University) each awarded the Sims Scholarship.
- Jack Kelly awarded a Honorary Lifetime Membership.
- o Allan Pither elected president-elect.
- o Fall conference in Ft. Lauderdale.
- o Sims Award to Fred Rabe.
- Raymond Parker Aid to FAEDS Award to Bebe Smith.

• 1991

- Membership declines to around 200 in part due to budget problems within the educational community.
- o President-elect was Bebe Smith.
- o Mary Esther Raker given a Honorary Lifetime Membership.
- Fall Conference marked the first joint conference between FAEDS and SDCCMIS (School District Council on Comprehensive Management Information Systems). It was held in Sarasota. Entertainment included dueling pianists.
- o English Scholarship awarded to Phillip S. Bostick (Tampa Jefferson H. S.).
- o Sims Scholarship to Louis J. Erickson (Okaloosa-Walton C. C.).
- o Steven A. Bachmeyer (South Dade H. S.) presented the Teacher Scholarship.
- o Lisa Day (Tampa Palms Elementary School) awarded CTOY.
- o Sims Award to Russell Miller.
- Raymond Parker Aid to FAEDS Award to Jeff Pace.

1992

- Responsibility for Installation Profile officially handed to D.O.E.
- Annette Barwick nicknamed "Smokey" after her district's administration building burned down.
- o Membership approximately 175.
- Bill Branch was elected president-elect.
- o English Scholarship to Isaac Green (University of Central Florida).
- o Sims Scholarship to Donald Evans (University of Central Florida).
- o Teacher Scholarship to Ann Stratton (Sabal Elementary School in Melbourne).
- Lottie Simms of Miami Lakes Middle School received the CTOY Award.
- Francis Watson was presented with a Honorary Membership Award.

- Fall Conference took place in Jacksonville.
- o Sims Award to David Brittian.
- o Raymond Parker Aid to FAEDS Award to Francis Watson.

1993

- Attempt to complete the Installation Profile on the FIRN Network was suspended indefinitely.
- o FETC attendance clears 7,000.
- o FAEDS agrees to act as fiscal agent for FIRN special projects.
- o Membership dips below 100.
- o Fall Conference held in Orlando.
- o President-elect was Dan Cromer.
- o English Scholarship to John Cozier (University of Central Florida).
- Sims Scholarship presented to Rebecca Zamorski (Okaloosa-Walton C. C.).
- Sims Award to Mary Haney.
- Raymond Parker Aid to FAEDS Award to Ron Schoenau.

• 1994

- Membership was included with Conference registration
- o Additional year added to scholarships if requirements properly met.
- o President-elect was Al Le Duc.
- Fall Conference was held in Orlando, and the banquet entertainment included a dance group.
- Sims Scholarship to Andre White (Florida Community College).
- o English Scholarships awarded to Jeffrey Couturier (Rockledge), Benjamin Johnson (Tallahassee), and Andrew Reddish (Port St. Lucie).
- o Teacher Scholarship to Michelle Funnell (Citrus Elementary School Vero Beach).

1995

- Scholarship amount raised to \$1500.
- o FETC attendance over 16,000. FETC budget over \$1,000,000.
- o Membership back up to 200.
- Bernie Slessinger honored with a Lifetime Membership.
- Richard Struese was president-elect.
- o Fall Conference held in Orlando.
- Sims Award to Bill Branch.
- Raymond Parker Aid to FAEDS Award to Bernard Slessinger.
- o English Scholarships to Jeffrey Sullivan (Orlando) and Janet Joyner (Panama City).
- Teacher Scholarship to Daryl La Bello (Switzerland Point Middle School -Jacksonville).
- o Marie Dence became historian.
- CR joined NERDC and became assistant-historian.

1996

- o FETC becomes incorporated.
- o Network News evolves from hard copy to electronic format.
- o FETC takes over control of Teacher Scholarship.
- o Fall Conference held in Orlando.

o Cary Petersen elected president-elect.

1997

- Outgoing President Award was presented to Rich Struense. Board Members
 Award presented for completion of terms: Fred Rabe, Murray Moore, Carlotta
 Appleman and Ron Schoenau.
- Sims Award presented to Al LeDuc.
- o 172 Conference Participants in Orlando.
- o President-elect was Dan Cromer.
- Elected directors were Carlotta Appleman, Steve Miller, Fred Rabe, and Ron Schoenau.
- There was continuing discussion about the FAEDS Logo. The Board has not received any submissions it feels comfortable presenting to the membership.
 Submissions continue to be welcomed.
- Training tapes of University E-rate Applications available on web for all Faeds Members.
- o Bill Schmid named CIO for Department of Education.
- 158 FAEDS Members as of May'97
- o Bylaw changes were approved. (1) Section 4.03 was deleted and 4.02 was evised to say the annual fees were voted on by the majority and Honorary members are not obligated to pay dues. (2) Section 5.04 now states the Past-President shall complete the term instead of President Elect in the event the President is unable to finish the term.(3) Deletion of Section 5.14 which stated the President of FAEDS serve on the FACE Board of Directors and vice versa. (4) Adding to Section 6.03 that written notice of meetings includes electronic means,e-mail and websites. (5) Adding to Section 8.01 that written notice for proposed amendments may be given by electronic means also.

1998

- Two English Scholarships were awarded. One to Ken Crister of Apopke High School and the other to Jeffery Douglas of Lake Brantley High School.
- o FETC is starting a quarterly newsletter.
- o Bob Bedford is returning to FETC as a consultant.
- o FAEDS membership is at 135.
- Registration fees are being increased to \$75.
- 1999 FAEDS will buy its own domain name for the webpage through NERDC/UF.
 - o Rich Struense is the president and president-elect is Carlotta Appleman.
 - o The William J. English Award was given to Dan Cromer
 - o Raymond Parker was given to Saul Klein
 - o The Robert W. Sims Memorial was given to Earl Moon
 - The Jack Kelly was awarded to Bebe Smith Recognition Awards for 2 years of service on the Board were given to Ron Schoenau, Fred Rabe, Carlotta Appleman and Steve Miller

Any questions or input? Contact:

Marie Dence, FAEDS Historian, telephone (352)392-2061 or E-mail: lmcd@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu